Scientific Advisory Board

Lisa A. Fortier, DVM, PhD, DACVS

Dr. Fortier is a Professor of Surgery at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY.  She received her DVM from Colorado State University and completed her PhD and surgical residency training at Cornell University.  She is boarded with the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and practices equine orthopedic surgery at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York and at the Cornell Ruffian Equine Specialists in Elmont, New York.  Her laboratory has a particular interest in translational research including the prevention of post-traumatic osteoarthritis. In addition, Lisa’s research program investigates the clinical application of stem cells and biologics such as platelet rich plasma and bone marrow concentrate for cartilage repair and tendonosis.  She has received the Jaques Lemans Award from the International Cartilage Repair Society, the New Investigator Research Award from the Orthopaedic Research Society, and the Pfizer Research Award for Research Excellence from Cornell University. Lisa is the Vice President of the International Veterinary Regenerative Medicine Society, Past President of the International Cartilage Repair Society, and Director of the Equine Park at Cornell University.

Andreas M. Sauerbrey, MD

Dr. Sauerbrey is a board certified, fellowship trained orthopaedic surgeon specializing in shoulder/upper extremity surgery, sports medicine and joint restoration and a leading expert in arthroscopic procedures for the shoulder, knee, elbow and wrist and reconstructive bone and joint procedures for trauma and arthritis with a special interest in shoulder arthroscopy and reconstruction and biologic treatments including PRP and growth factors. He completed his medical degree in 1992 from Oregon Health Sciences University, orthopaedic residency at the University of Colorado and subsequently performed fellowship training in shoulder and elbow surgery at the University of Pennsylvania followed by a fellowship in hand surgery at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia. Dr. Sauerbrey has served as a team physician for the USSA (United States Ski and Snowboard Association) and the US Ski Team since 2001 travelling the world with the US Freestyle Ski Team annually since 2002 and serving as the Freestyle Ski Team Physician in 2009 for the 2010 Vancouver Olympics and the 2009 and 2011 Freestyle World Championships.

Richard W. Snyder II, MD, FACC

Dr. Snyder is a cardiologist at Medical City Dallas Hospital and board certified in Cardiovascular Disease, Interventional Cardiology, Advanced Heart Failure, and Transplant Cardiology.  He currently is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Texas Medical Association serving as Secretary, a Member of the Board of Directors for the North Texas Accountable Healthcare Partnership and a member of the North Texas Community Emergency Response Committee. Dr Snyder is also a member of the Dallas County Health and Human Services Public Health Advisory Committee and as well as a Vice President of HeartPlace and Cardiovascular Provider Resources.  Among other former positions, Dr. Snyder has served as President for not only the medical staff for Medical City Dallas Hospital, but also the Dallas County Medical Society, and the Texas Chapter of the American College of Cardiology. Additionally, he was  a member of the Board of Governors for the American College of Cardiology in DC and as well as a Trustee of the Southwestern Medical Foundation.   After graduating from the University of Notre Dame, he completed medical school at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, with a residency in internal medicine and fellowship in cardiovascular disease.